And the Goldstar National Nutcracker Award Winner Is …

I’m happy to announce that the winner of the 7th Annual Goldstar National Nutcracker Award is The Hot Chocolate Nutcracker, by Debbie Allen Productions, performed at Royce Hall at UCLA.

This is the second time Debbie Allen’s troupe has won. Theirs is a “modern spin” on the traditional performance with lots of talented young performers. When the troupe won back in 2010, I got a behind-the-scenes tour of the school and studio, and that was a lot of fun. They bring a ton of real enthusiasm to what they do.

I’d like to congratulate all the nominees this year. It was close! If fact, the lead changed several times, and it came right down to this morning when the voting finally closed.

A special note of congratulations to the Joffrey Ballet, who was the two-time reigning winner. Another strong year! Congrats as well to Chicago’s House Theatre, Gelsey Kirkland Academy (performing at Pace University), the Long Beach Ballet and the San Francisco Ballet, all of which came close. Well done all around!

Sign Up for Emails